If We Were on a Gmeet Chatbox – Life Musing #2

If we were on a Gmeet chatbox I’d tell you I had a lot of fun writing the first post for this series. There is too much going on in my personal life and most times I’m not in the headspace to write the kind of posts I’d usually write or want to write. Still I want to blog so it’s a nice way to write. And I always smile when writing these posts.

I’d tell you that just now amidst writing this a friend asked what ‘Achilles heel’ is and I found myself smiling while explaining it. Going back to my first semester. Am now about to be in my fifth semester and seriously questioning it all. So now it’s kinda bittersweet to look back at the time when I didn’t question my choices and was just excited.

I’d tell you Ed Sheeran dropped his new album on 5th and I got around to listening to it a while ago. Though I’ve only heard the album till its 9th track, it’s already one of my favourites from him. I love the vocals, I love the lyrics, I love how mature and raw and honest the album is. I’m taking my time to listen to it due to the personal nature of the songs. It’s just the way I like it. 🥰 

I’d tell you a few weekends ago (I don’t remember when but it was after I wrote the first post in this series) I read for an entire weekend. I finished “seven years in Tibet” and started and finished “Frankenstein.”. I liked “seven years in Tibet” better. It was a very interesting read. And now I am curious to read more Tibetan literature. Specifically, more of Own Voices Tibetan literature. I went back to the Tibetan parts in Monisha Rajesh’s 2nd book “Around the world in 80 trains” in case you haven’t read it till now, GO PICK IT UP!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU’RE MISSING OUT ON HER RAW HONEST WRITING IF YOU HAVEN’T READ ANY OF HER BOOKS. Um I got too excited 😂😂

It was lovely reading. It was after literally ages that I read so much. And now I can’t wait for June to come and for these exams to end. Am missing Morrison’s writing. I really want to pick up some books from her. Probably wrong timing but I don’t care. I didn’t know “Beloved” would live in my head this way. But it does. And now I want to read another book from her. There is something in her writing style. Something which makes me want to go back to her. It is strange. I wish I had discovered her a little earlier. But then I don’t think I’d have been able to appreciate it. Who knows.

I’m also stoked to pick up “Hotel Arcadia” by prof. Sunny Singh. I’m tired of waiting and now I think I’ll be able to appreciate it. Besides its war lit and HER NEW COLLECTION OF SHORT STORIES IS ABOUT TO BE OUT SOON!!!!!!! AND AM SO EXCITED FOR IT!!!!!!

I’d tell you that ON 6TH MAY TAYLOR SWIFT TWEETED ANNOUNCING SPEAK NOW TAYLORS VERSION!!!!!!!! I remember being wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy too excited seeing the tweet, woke my friend up literally scared her. It was so fun. Then I ended up fangirling with 2 more people. And now all my conversations with them (which are not many but ok) open and close with “speak now July 7 Taylor swift” or some variations of this. it was a strange day. 🙂 I remember smiling a lot that day <3.

I FUCKING CANNOT BELIEVE THAT ‘SPEAK NOW’ IS GONNA BE OURS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I read Taylor Nation’s caption on Instagram and I couldn’t agree more with it. “One of the best things that’s ever been ours will officially be hers again.”

Honestly, I don’t remember the first song I heard from her. I don’t really remember the exact moment I got introduced to her. I think it was “speak now” only. But then I am not sure. I’ve memories of listening to “speak now” in 2019 and found her songs downloaded with me. Even though the album was no-longer hers at that time, 2019 seems ages ago and I cannot believe I’LL BE ABLE TO PLAY “ENCHANTED” “NEVER GROW UP” “LONG LIVE” AND ALL THE OTHER “SPEAK NOW” SONGS INCLUDING “SPEAK NOW” ON LOOP AS MANY TIMES AS I WANT. I don’t remember the exact moment when she entered my life. but now I can’t imagine my life without her.

It would be different for those who unlike me grew up with Taylor. This news of us getting a Taylors version of “speak now” would mean something entirely different to those people. Nevertheless, “SPEAK NOW” IS COMING ON JULY SEVENTH TWENTY TWENTY THREE AND I AM HERE FOR IT!!!!!!!

It is strange how somehow Tay knows the exact moment I’d need some smiles.. Something to keep me going. Something to make me look forward to, be worked up about. She’s just the loveliest person on this entire earth. All of her. With her flaws ❤

I’m for sure gonna spend all the days till 7 July 2023 listening to all the LIVE clips of “speak now” songs we have. I LITERALLY CANNOT WAIT FOR THE ALBUM TO DROP!!!!!! JULY SHOULD COME FAST. ALSO YES THERE ARE SIX SONGS FROM THE VAULT!!!!! “SPEAK NOW” IN MY OPINION SHOWS TAYLOR’S STORYTELLING AT ITS FINEST, THE AGE SHE WAS IN WHEN SHE WROTE IT. C’MON “ENCHANTED” IS ENTIRELY WRITTEN IN DREAM NARRATIVE! THE WHOLE SONG IS A DREAM. AND THAT BRIDGE OF ‘LAST KISS’ AND ‘BACK TO DECEMBER’ OK BASICALLY THAT WHOLE ALBUM.

I’d tell you that I do not do well with changes. At all. Whether positive or negative, I always find it hard to deal with changes. I’d rather prefer things being as they are. Right now it seems like everything I once took comfort in is changing in some way or the other. Old bonds deepening in this strange way, new bonds being formed… it’s just changing. And I am just trying to grasp it all. I’ll soon be in my 3rd year. Seeing a batch graduate is bittersweet and scary at the same time. Next year I’ll find myself in the exact same place where my friends are.

I’d tell you even twitter is changing. It is changing in this hard to put way. It has been rather quiet lately. I’ve been fortunate to have a good experience on that app so far. Reflecting on my time on this bird app, I realized that there has been a lot of care I’ve been taking. Sometimes consciously and most times completely unconscious of it, carefully curating my timeline.

I’d tell you that I am still trying to grasp how I’m feeling seeing Twitter change. Am I the only one? I don’t know. A lot of disabled people have ended up building a community on that app. For many, it is the only way they can connect to the world outside. Even though I’m nowhere near them in building a community, this bird app helped me get through the pandemic more than I thought it did. Making me smile when I need it the most.

I’d tell you I’ve ranted for far too long here. I better go off to study, isn’t it?

If we were on a Gmeet chatbox what would you tell me?

Khushi x

4 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started